Even Goths Like Snacks.

It is true. Some of us even host High Tea at our homes, especially those of us that have a particular fondness for the Victorian Era.  (I am in fact, of the Tea-Hosting type.) I have noticed, however, through personal experience that many Gothic ladies I have met do not share my personal fondness for exchanging recipes.  I find this practice to be one of the best and most non-offensive bonding activities for ladies of any culture.

Therefore, I have decided to make readers feel more at home by sharing a recipe which my Grandmother Edna,  gave me as a teenager that is one of the main snacks or desserts served by my family during important holidays or special occasions. I do not have any idea whether or not my Grandma created this treat herself or received the recipe from another person, but most women in my family swear some secret oath never to give this recipe out to anyone.  After receiving permission from Grandma, I bring you Seven-Up Salad!

Seven-Up Salad

Ingredients:

  • 6 ounces of lime gelatin powder( I use Jell-O)
  • 1 and 1/2 cups of boiling water
  • 8 ounces of cream cheese (room temperature)
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 1 small can of crushed pineapple
  • 1 cup of 7-up
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • chopped nuts (optional, pecans or macadamia nuts are both good choices)

To Prepare:

Dissolve the gelatin in boiling water. After it has completely dissolved, stir the cream cheese in until it is not clumpy.  BE VERY CAREFUL if you use an electric mixer because this junk splatters; the lowest speed is recommended. Add the pineapple, 7-up, vanilla, and sugar and give it another good stir. When the mixture is partially set, fold in the nuts if you choose to have them. Pour into the mold of your choosing and then refrigerate until firm. I always leave mine in the fridge overnight just to be certain.

I like to use a bundt or a pan shaped like a cathedral or a castle for my 7-up Jell-O.  Also fun to use are reptile or monster shaped pans, because the 7-up Jell-O is a mint-green color. If you use normal style pans, the recipe will fill a 9″ x 9″ Pyrex pan to the very brim. This snack is great for parties, gatherings, or holidays, and people tend to appreciate something different once in a while.

Also, if you are into cherries, you can use cherry seven-up and bing  or maraschino cherries instead of regular 7-up and pineapple.  Both versions are extremely good.  Doing it this way, instead of mint-green your treat will come out baby pink in color.

 

Enjoy!

~ by Israfel on August 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
